Excuses, Excuses.

Posted: November 11, 2010 in Uncategorized

What’s an athlete’s worst enemy? Carbs? Nope. Lethargy? No. Sugar? Not really. An athlete’s (or really, anyone who wants to excel in life) worst enemy is EXCUSES. That means, on some level, that you can be your own worst enemy. Which is great news, because it also means you can be-yup, you guessed it- your own best friend. Anyone that has done anything extraordinary in this life can tell you that the first step is to show up. Excuses prevent you from showing up.  So, next time you start telling yourself excuses, read this article from men’s health.com:

http://www.menshealth.com/mhlists/overcome_exercise_excuses/index.php

 

Comments
  1. Mike says:

    I hear ya – no matter how many times I plan on getting to the gym – I always have a reason why I didn’t make it. I’m going to stop the excuses and do it.

  2. natalie says:

    this is just what i needed today. i feel like sometimes you when somebody else gives you that push, it really can put you back on track. thanks tommy, and great article.

  3. George says:

    Hey me too! The more I maintain workout now, the less I have to kill myself in the Spring. Thanks again to you Tommy

  4. Great idea Tommy-
    You know, the biggest challenge in life is overcoming the obstacles we put out in front of us. I find that the people who train with me really just have to get out of their own way in order to succeed. Part of being a great trainer is being able to facilitate that process. Everyone has resistance to working out at some point or another, even myself! The trick is to just keep your goal in mind and envision it as you workout, and to notice the payoffs, however small, that come about as a result of training.

  5. Matt says:

    Hey Tommy,
    In the past 6 months I’ve lost about 90 pounds of serious fat. I’m pumped about working out and I feel great. The problem is, my girlfriend, who is still overweight, is having a hard time getting motivated. She’s gotten insecure about my weight loss. What can I do to help her?
    Thanks.

  6. Julia says:

    Hi Tommy,
    I’m swim laps at an Olympic sized pool but for some reason my abs are still kind of flabby. What can I do? I hate doing sit ups and crunches. Would love some advice.
    Cheers- Julia

    • tommyalston says:

      Julia, unfortunately if you wanna build those abs, you gotta work them. Swimming is great for keeping tone, but if you wanna see some nice stomach muscles, get into the crunches (upper abs), and the leg raises (lower abs) Just do about three sets of 20, which isn’t bad, and you should see results before you know it 😉

  7. Angela says:

    Angelo here.
    What can I do to improve back fat? Not to get personal, but I can’t seem to get rid of it! Thanks!

  8. tommyalston says:

    Natalie & George- glad this could help, and Michael- Great advice! Always keep your eyes on the prize and it will be tough to lose motivation!

  9. tommyalston says:

    Matt,
    When it comes to motivating people to get in shape, it is important to stress health, and not looks. The healthy your girlfriend is, the more activities you can do together for a longer period of time. Encouraging her to do exercise with you should help also, say you don’t wanna do it alone, and you need her for support. Usually after that first push, people start to want things for themselves 😉 Good luck, and although you want her to be healthy for your future, always make her feel beautiful

  10. Matt says:

    Thanks Tommy,

    You’re right, and she is always going to be beautiful to me. But it actually worked, I told her that I needed her, and she came. Even if she gives me a hard time before we go, afterwards, she thanks me for bringing her. Hopefully she can be my push one of these days when the gym is the last thing on My mind. Thanks agian

Leave a Reply

